Follow:
Vegan, Wellness

Foods You Might Not Know Are Vegan

Considering going vegan, but afraid you’ll miss your favorite treats?  Fear not, you can still get your snack on without including animal products in your diet.  Some of your favorite treats have been vegan all along without you knowing.  Check out these excellent munchies that also happen to be vegan, and have a look at PETA’s website for more information.

Oreo Cookies

While they may contain some unpronounceable ingredients, Oreo cookies (and some other similar cookies) are milk and egg free, making them totally vegan.  Enjoy with almond or soy milk for a late night snack.

Bac’n Bits

It’s spelled bac’n because there isn’t actually bacon in bac’n bits.  This bacon flavored treat is usually made from soy, but be sure to check the ingredients before buying to be sure they’re meat free. Bac’n bits are a great addition to salads, broccoli, potatoes, or a tofu scramble with some nutritional yeast on top.

Duncan Hines Cake Mix & Home-Style Frosting

Baked goods are one of the things vegans miss the most.  With an egg substitute (try plain seltzer in place of egg and oil/butter), there are several flavors of Duncan Hines cake mix that are vegan. Vegan flavors include Classic Carrot, Moist Deluxe Butter Golden, Classic Yellow, Dark Chocolate Fudge, Devil’s Food, Fudge Marble, German Chocolate, Red Velvet, Swiss Chocolate, Coconut Supreme, Lemon Supreme, Pineapple Supreme, and Strawberry Supreme.  Several of the Home-Style frosting flavors are egg and dairy free as well, including Butter Cream, Caramel, Classic Chocolate, Vanilla, Coconut Pecan, Dark Chocolate Fudge, Lemon Supreme, and Strawberry Cream.  Yum!

Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup

Yes, it’s vegan.  It does say chocolate flavor, after all.  No dairy here, making this safe for diets free of animal products.  You can still enjoy chocolate syrup in your almond or soy milk, or topping your dairy-free ice cream.

Frito’s

Salty, crunchy and delicious, Frito’s only have three ingredients: whole corn, corn oil, and salt.  This is an excellent snack to enjoy with some guacamole and salsa.

Sour Patch Kids

More unpronounceable ingredients on this list, but Sour Patch kids are certified as vegan by PETA, along with several other gummy candies.  Wonderful news for everyone!

Dark Chocolate

Be sure to check your labels again for milk contamination, but most dark chocolate is vegan.  Try to look for a higher percentage of cacao, 70 percent or above usually works.

Share:
Previous Post Next Post

You may also like